Sue’s news…

photo

Well, just thought I’d take a sec and say hello and catch you up on Sue’s news. You may have noticed my sporadic presence – in part because we are between internet providers at least for another week. Yup, life is SO much fun with two teens and no internet at home… But more has kept me away.

I’ve mentioned before that I brought my mom home this summer while trying to place her in an assisted care facility. She wasn’t able to manage her medications or her diabetes on her own any longer. Two weeks ago though, her health began slipping. I couldn’t figure out why she was so tired all the time so we took her for some blood tests. The results were immediate and disastrous.

Acute leukemia. Get to the hospital. There’s a bed waiting for you right now.

Just how in hell had that happened?

Two of my brothers and I spent the better part of that week trying to figure out what we were supposed to do. When day three rolled around and the doctors started using the words “palliative care” and “terminal”- reality hit home. My beautiful mom was dying.

It hurt, telling mom she could never go back to her apartment. It broke my heart to tell her she couldn’t come home with me. Mom just smiled, squeezed my hand and told me she understood.

She was giving comfort to me!

Mom’s in hospice care now and fading a bit every day. We had 5 or 6 great days with her. Days of her smiles and words of comfort and reflection in a place she loves. It’s a relief to be her daughter again and let someone else worry for every cough and sneeze.

So, you haven’t seen much of Sue because she’s living through hell right now. In truth, 2013 has sucked for my family. This will make death number 3. You’ll see me again and soon I hope. Full of stupid jokes and smiling as I share some quirky bit of nonsense. In the meantime, I’m wishing for all of you love and comfort, joy and peace. And please know, I may not have a chance to read your posts or respond for a while.

But I am thinking of you,

Sue

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Sue’s news…

  1. Hi Susan,

    Again, I am so sorry that you are in this hard time right now. You will come out on the other side, as you said. Praying for peace and comfort and strength.

    I tried to look up the post but got a message that the domain name expired. Don’t know what that’s all about.

    Connie Berry

    • so, it wouldn’t let you load this site? I didn’t want to continue using my domain name, now they want to charge me $98 to continue! Time to start a new blog for free!!!
      Thanks for the kind words. Heading out for a quick visit soon.

  2. free penny press

    (I was able to comment from the WP reader)..
    Sue, there are no words from me now as I fully understand the pain your heart is in right now. When my Mom was in hospice 2 years ago I absorbed every moment of her being as you will too. It gives me great comfort now. I will pray for healing for your family and may you Mother’s journey be peaceful, surrounded by her loving daughter.
    Please, take care of you too and we will be here when you decide the time is right to blog.
    Your long distance friend,
    Lynne

  3. free penny press

    (I was able to comment from the WP reader)..
    Sue, there are no words from me now as I fully understand the pain your heart is in right now. When my Mom was in hospice 2 years ago I absorbed every moment of her being as you will too. It gives me great comfort now. I will pray for healing for your family and may you Mother’s journey be peaceful, surrounded by her loving daughter.
    Please, take care of you too and we will be here when you decide the time is right to blog.
    Your long distance friend,
    Lynne

  4. I know we are two months beyond the date of this post, and so much has happened. Still, it was nice to read the post and find out more details than what I’ve read on Facebook. What a lovely photo of you and your mother. I’m terribly sorry for your loss, Sue.

    I’m glad your Down the Mountain Road site is accessible again!! I know you had all sorts of internet trouble and then lost your domain for a bit, but I’m happy you’re back up!! Take all the time you need…but then I look forward to hearing from you when you’re up for it again. Hugs xxx -Lori

    • Hi Lori –
      thanks for the sweet comment. I’m working on my blog’s redesign and hope to have it up and running at the end of the week.
      Down the Mountain Road is back, but Susanbahr.com is gone for good! Some wacky woman has snagged it. Don’t recognize the language her blog is written.
      Lovely to hear from you –
      Cheers,
      Sue

  5. What a beautiful photo of you and your mother. I’m so sorry for you loss, Susan. I hope you’re doing okay.

    • Thank you- she was such a lovely woman. I miss her so very much. I appreciate your kind comment. Take care, Sue

      • As I mentioned to Dave, where I read your comment, thankfully, my parents are both still alive and well, so I can’t even imagine how difficult such a loss can be. Take care, Susan.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

According to Dave

On life and writing ...

Judi Lynn

http://www.judilynnwrites

LauraRyan

The Box a story about witchcraft, karma and what was really in Pandora's Box

thekovies

Pondering lifes blessings one memory at a time

Connie Campbell Berry

Every woman, in her heart, believes herself to be a detective

Nutshells & Mosquito Wings

A fantasy writer's journey through reality

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Lori Lipsky | Poetry Patio

Poetry for the rest of us

Maybe someone should write that down...

Writerly ways for Family Historians and Storytellers

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

The DeerArrow Company

Mouthful of Words - One of my better harebrained schemes

AshiAkira's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just As I Am

Learning about unconditional love and acceptance

