Oh, snap!

Okay, I’ll admit it. Living with two teenager daughters has given me such joy, laughter and delight. I know you were expecting me to say something else – and yes, I could go down that road sooooo easily. Like yesterday? Yesterday I spent three hours cleaning only to have it morph back into a mess within 3.5 seconds of them returning home.

Still, I suppose they have their charms.

I thought you might like to hear a snippet ofย  a conversation between my two lovelies. Keep in mind, I was sitting but 2 feet away.

S: I think we must be the smartest generation ever!

M:ย  What do you mean?

S: Look at this (leans over and shows sis her smartie phone). This person lined a room with toast, then wrote “All warm and toasty here.”

M: What?! (insert peals of laughter)

S: Just imagine what scientists will say a few hundred years from now when they unearth this site. What will they think? That we were so clever and smart! We are all that!

ME: (clearing my throat) Ah, excuse me, but I’m sitting right here.

S:ย  It’s true, we are the smartest.

ME: That is arrogant.

S. But true.

Which got me to thinking about how this generation equates intelligence with technological savvy. How stupid they think I am because I don’t know what a “hash tag” is…

A friend of mine explains it this way: Our generation (as in us oldies) are technological emigrants, whereas the younger are technological natives.

Sure.

We’ll go with that.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Oh, snap!

  1. free penny press

    Haha.. kids today.. my daughter thought I was an alien because I did not know what “IDK” (i don’t know) meant..can you imagine what things will be like when our kids are our age.. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. I love it! Just a few years ago my daughters were teenagers. Now they’re 20 and 23. How I wish I’d written and recorded some of their conversations! Btw, I loved having teen girls in the house (except for the messes). They kept me up-to-date. Having older girls is even more fun. None of the HS stresses…the twenties are terrific! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I’m so glad to hear that! They really are great girls and I love them so much. After that little conversation, Sarah stayed up really late making hand-crafted Valentine’s Day cards for us. Too sweet!

  3. After the teens comes the twenties then the thirties and they realize they turned into you after listening to some teens.

    • I loved this comment, Liz! Too funny and way too true. Now I just gotta have some patience while I wait for them to get really, really, really old (you know, like 31).

  4. To be honest with you, Sue, after having watched my youngest kids grow up (they are 22 and 20), I’m a bit worried about their generation, for lots of reasons. Some of it has to do with the prevalence of the technology they’ve had for quite some time now. But then again, it may just be the typical older generation thinking the younger generation is going to hell in a hand basket kind of mentality ๐Ÿ™‚ Don’t get me wrong, my kids are great kids. I just don’t think they’re living up to their potential, if you know what I mean.

    • I agree – and I wonder if arrogance is just a reflection of being young. I’ve noticed it in the last generation, too. My nephew and nieces that are in their early 30’s – I can’t really take large doses of them. Their arrogance often borders on mean.
      I still hope for my kids that they will face life with confidence, but compassion, too. I want them to understand that they have been shown love and to pass it along.
      Let’s hope for them all…

      • I agree with both of your comments. At the end of the day they will learn from their own mistakes, just like we did. Sigh. My prayer is they learn faster than I did about what is truly important.

      • That’s my prayer, too. Still, I’m finding they have to learn some things on their own.

      • That’s the truth, but it is hard to watch sometimes. Makes me think back about some of my mistakes, and what my Mom must have thought.

      • Exactly! If only we could keep them from making the same mistakes. I wonder if this protective instinct will ever fade?

      • Probably not, and we probably wouldn’t want it to. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • So true. Are you well my friend? I can only imagine the hectic pace you’re keeping… make sure you make some time for yourself, too!
        hugs –
        Sue

      • This week has been particularly hectic I will say that. Hug needed, thank you! โ™ฅ

      • I’m sending prayers and love and all good thoughts your way. So nice to see you and glad you found the time to swing by!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

According to Dave

On life and writing ...

Judi Lynn

http://www.judilynnwrites

LauraRyan

The official site of Author Laura Ryan

thekovies

Pondering lifes blessings one memory at a time

Connie Campbell Berry

Every woman, in her heart, believes herself to be a detective

Nutshells & Mosquito Wings

A fantasy writer's journey through reality

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Lori Lipsky | Poetry Patio

Poetry for the rest of us

Maybe someone should write that down...

Writerly ways for Family Historians and Storytellers

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

The DeerArrow Company

Mouthful of Words - One of my better harebrained schemes

AshiAkira's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just As I Am

Learning about unconditional love and acceptance

