the sounds of mid-winter…

No  pics this time, just thought I’d give you an audio of mid-winter in Vermont.

It’s cold again. An arctic blast has pushed down from Canada into my mountains, driving everyone  indoors. But if you were to venture outside, this is what you’d hear…

The snap of wood shrinking; a deafening rapport that sends shivers down your spine.

The crunch of snow underfoot. Under the onslaught of these temperatures, light powder is transformed into sharp crystals that protest when you walk.

The clicking of branches overhead as a breeze sends frozen limbs crashing against each other. It just sounds cold.

The whir-whir-whirring as the car engine protests, then a low chugging as it gives in and starts.

Your breath, as you try not to inhale too deeply.

Your cough when you do.

And when you finally venture down the mountain road and hurry, feet crunching over the snow, breath catching in great gasps into the local corner market, you’ll hear voices, all saying the same thing…

“Brrrr-  it’s wicked cold out theyah…”

********************

Stay warm my friends,

Sue

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “the sounds of mid-winter…

  1. I reminisce about the sounds of mid-winter that you give. When I was young, I spent some winters just as far up north as you do. I stayed in Michigan, which is on the border with Canada as is Vermont. Besides the sounds, I still visualize what I saw then, like the diamond dusts, white scenery and icicles that make trees look like they are made of glass. All are beauty that I miss very much now.

    • It’s so nice you have those memories, though, because the reality is it can be very challenging to go out and visit people or shop. It’s easier to just stay home.
      Now you can use those memories to create more of your wonderful Haikus!
      So nice to hear from you.

  2. Sorry I am waiting not so patiently for summer.Beautiful words on that there page though!

  3. free penny press

    You certainly described the cold, blustery winter.. I wish I had some winter here.. Always hot or hotter..
    Lovely words here Susan!!

    • Thanks for visiting, Lynne – although come Monday or so when it’s in the single digits and way below zero at night you’ll probably be glad for that heat!

  4. I could just visualize it, and “feel” and “hear” it. I almost just “liked” this…but didn’t want to be a drive by. 🙂

    • You’re too funny. I’d take one of your drive-by’s my dear, any day. I know you’re a busy lady.
      Miss you –
      be well.
      Sue

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

According to Dave

On life and writing ...

Judi Lynn

http://www.judilynnwrites

LauraRyan

The official site of Author Laura Ryan

thekovies

Pondering lifes blessings one memory at a time

Connie Campbell Berry

Every woman, in her heart, believes herself to be a detective

Nutshells & Mosquito Wings

A fantasy writer's journey through reality

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Lori Lipsky | Poetry Patio

Poetry for the rest of us

Maybe someone should write that down...

Writerly ways for Family Historians and Storytellers

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

The DeerArrow Company

Mouthful of Words - One of my better harebrained schemes

AshiAkira's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just As I Am

Learning about unconditional love and acceptance

