I’m not Kathlin…

Well, as some of you may know, I’ve been waiting for word from an editor at a small publishing house that had my manuscript.  I’d been scoped this summer from an on-line writer’s conference and asked to send the entire story.

Yes, I got word a few days ago.

How did I know an email message would not bring good news? You’ve no idea how often I prayed for my damn cell phone to ring – not chirp to notify I had mail?

Thanks for submitting, the editor said, but they didn’t feel strongly enough about my manuscript.

Okay….

I was a professional and you would all be so proud. I hit the reply button and sent a formal thank you, all kind and gracious for them taking a look at my book. I was a good girl, even though they addressed my rejection-form email to “Kathlin”. I didn’t smirk and say, Kathlin is the main character of my book – something you would’ve known if you’d read the manuscript. I didn’t say, you had my manuscript for 3 and 1/2 months and can’t give me feedback? I didn’t say how disappointed I was or frustrated with the publishing process.

No, I held my head high, sent that missive on its merry way, emotionlessly worded, penned by the editor in my head that says “don’t burn any bridges.”

But I did sign my name.

And now she knows I’m not Kathlin.

 

As so many of you are choosing to self-publish, I would love to create a post, highlighting your endeavors. Would you send me information: date available, whether e-reader or hard cover and pertanent links to my facebook page? You can find it on my sidebar.

When one of us succeeds, we all succeed.

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “I’m not Kathlin…

  1. Chin up, Buttercup. You are my hero. 

    ________________________________

    • Thanks Karen – and let’s make sure to highlight your wonderful book, okay? It’s all part of the process, just not the fun part.

  2. free penny press

    You handled that like a gracious professional. Shooting back an ugly email would have been wrong and you never know who knows who in the publishing world. I’ve had poems rejected before and merely dusted off my hurt pride and resubmitted somewhere else. Keep sending your manuscript out until your arm gets tired of clicking the “Submit” button..
    It will happen, just believe 🙂
    Lynne

    • I was a bit “off” yesterday – but determined to press ahead. Sad that writers have to be their own best advocate, isn’t it? Ah well, thanks for verifying my instincts. You’re right, one never knows…

  3. The editor in your head is spot-on! Not now doesn’t mean not ever. Don’t give up. You are an encouragement to others! PS: I liked flowerlady’s chin-up buttercup line. 🙂

    • Thanks for the sweet words of encouragement – and yes, I love the “chin-up buttercup” comment, too. More sweet words from another dear friend, Karen.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

According to Dave

On life and writing ...

Judi Lynn

http://www.judilynnwrites

LauraRyan

The Box a story about witchcraft, karma and what was really in Pandora's Box

thekovies

Pondering lifes blessings one memory at a time

Connie Campbell Berry

Every woman, in her heart, believes herself to be a detective

Nutshells & Mosquito Wings

A fantasy writer's journey through reality

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Lori Lipsky | Poetry Patio

Poetry for the rest of us

Maybe someone should write that down...

Writerly ways for Family Historians and Storytellers

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

The DeerArrow Company

Mouthful of Words - One of my better harebrained schemes

AshiAkira's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just As I Am

Learning about unconditional love and acceptance

