of painted dragons and good music…

Thanks for letting me indulge, dear cyber-friends. When my vertigo spiked yesterday, I knew it was time to unplug. Too many images of desperation. To many cries for help. And here I was, powerless to do anything.

I said I would paint and I did. Been working all summer with a dear friend, Karen Sturdevant to illustrate her wonderful picture book called “Gert and Stu and Zippy, too.” Love that she’s having it published. Admire her for her perseverance and dedication to editing and making it the best story it could be. I’ll let you know when it’s finally in print form…

What a delight for me, to turn off pain and tune into the sweet world she’s created. I asked her this morning if I could share an illustration and she agreed. So, here is but one of many drawings…

 

As to the music I listened to, I thought I’d plug my boy, JR Richards formerly of Dishwalla (alas, they are no more). Their big hit in the late ’90s is called  “Counting Blue Cars,” a wonderful rocky tune with such famous lyrics as “Tell me all your thoughts on God, ’cause I’d really like to meet her.”

If you want to check out more Dishwalla tunes, make sure you download their song, “Home”.

This is one band that sounds even better live! So, if you want to be moved to goosebumps, you can download “Angels or Devils” off their album “Live From the Flow State”. If you want to rock out and embarrass every teenager in a ten-mile radius, download “Mad Life,” “Moisture” and “Somewhere in the Middle” (again, from the live album). To further their embarrassment, you can do what I do… ask your kids to take the dishes out of the “dishwalla.”

If you want a moment of peace and pure joy, go get yourself one more tune from this awesome band. “Until I wake Up” from their album “So you think you know what life’s about”.

Here’s to you, JR. You rock my menopausal world.

Sue

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “of painted dragons and good music…

  1. free penny press

    There are definite benefits to unplugging as this post shows.. Love that illustrations and would like to stay tuned for when the book comes out. Glad your time away was restful and productive 🙂

    • Thanks, Lynne – it’s been nice to focus on something so sweet and innocent. Reminds me that there is joy in this world and our children need us to stay positive. I appreciate your comments – they always mean so much to me!

  2. Love it! The children remind me of the Goldenbooks from my youth. I also really like the colors! I only painted a little this week, finishing up a painting on Monday….need to start a new project! This is something we can’t forget to do for ourselves Sue! You are an inspiration, and encouragement by your words and example!

    • So nice to “see” you Denise – and great to hear you’ve been painting! Thanks for the comments, I appreciate it. Coming into the home stretch with this picture book – I’ve been working on it all summer. Can’t tell who’s more excited: me or the author! My best to you!
      Sue

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

According to Dave

On life and writing ...

Judi Lynn

http://www.judilynnwrites

LauraRyan

The official site of Author Laura Ryan

thekovies

Pondering lifes blessings one memory at a time

Connie Campbell Berry

Every woman, in her heart, believes herself to be a detective

Nutshells & Mosquito Wings

A fantasy writer's journey through reality

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Lori Lipsky | Poetry Patio

Poetry for the rest of us

Maybe someone should write that down...

Writerly ways for Family Historians and Storytellers

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

The DeerArrow Company

Mouthful of Words - One of my better harebrained schemes

AshiAkira's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just As I Am

Learning about unconditional love and acceptance

