flatline stats and warm hugs… Part One

(This post is WAY too long… how in heck did it grow to 2500 words! So, knowing that we are all way to busy to indulge in this much reading in one sitting, I’m breaking it into two parts. Thanks, T’resa, for the inspiration.)

This week has come and gone and not a moment too soon.

Financial stress, constant worry, a hectic break-neck schedule left me with nothing to say. No new posts. No words could come from this battered brain. And yet, I laughed each day when I loaded my stats and watched the diminishing returns with joy. Have I lost my mind?

Perhaps…

But then, my notification page was full of wonderful, beautiful heart-felt comments.

This week I discovered the simple pleasure of reading, commenting and liking your blogs. You were my words. You expressed the thoughts, fears and frustrations bottled up inside. Some of you made me laugh, some scolded, others challenged my hopelessness… all left me with renewed purpose. Each touched me this past week and I’d like to share how…

These are in order from the most recent bloggers I follow to my longest running companions. Please check the side bar for a link to each site and… please, feel free to pay them a visit!

I didn’t have a break-down this week, I made an incredible break-through, though, when wordpress finally allowed me to comment on runningfromhellwithel’s blog. Imagine my joy when I could let this wonderful lady know I’d visited, that I loved her posts… that they touched me. Here is how she responded to my first comment:

“Sue!!! It’s great to see you here!! Thank you so much for persevering through the WordPress craziness! I am grinning, for real, sitting here in my quiet sitting room and reading your kind remarks!! Thank you so much!! And I’ll see you around soon!
~El”

I love all the exclamation marks.

********************************

Next on my side bar is a little baby blogger, a newbie, my daughter, McKenna. She’s my writing buddy, my coach, my partner in crime. I support her voyage into cyberworld and ask you to do the same. I’m amazed that she’s tackling her writer’s block with such grace and creativity. You go girl (and yes, she’s cringing right now).

**********************************

To Lynne who recently began Six Degrees… a site dedicated to seeking out blogs to highlight. She is an endless pursuer of all things supportive. She’s also a caring soul. I’ve only just begun to tap this site and I know great things are ahead for her and those of us who find that new treasure to follow…

 **********************************

To Eunice over at Living and Lovin, a neighbor and fellow New Englander. What a charm and her photos blow me away. In the midst of high stress this week, I opened her blog to find a post called “Many find peace here.” And I did. I sat with my cup of tea and just stared at that sunset. Peace flowed and warmth and love.

my comment to her:

“I never realized before this summer, when I began blogging, how much I’d chosen to live in a vacuum – insulating, protecting myself from the painful junk that’s out there. It was with great trepidation that I launched myself into cyber space and I’m so very glad I did. Here I am, saying hello to a neighbor, loving her photos and her wonderful posts… I, too, am so glad we met…
 take care and peace”

Eunice responded:

“I also am glad to have met you next time I am in your area I will let you know so I can give you a HUG :)   We have wonderful people who follow us :)  Thankfully”

I’m looking forward to that hug.

**********************************

To Joan over at The Thing About Joan… I feel like I’m home when I read her posts. She’s so with it and so darn creative. When my dishes piled up this week and the laundry threatened to bury me, I went to her site and read a bunch of Halloween tips. So amazing how grounded I found this. It was a gentle reminder that our family is to be cherished, that sometimes being a mom is enough…

**********************************

To Michelle, a young lass who’s spending a year abroad in Ireland. I love this post – she’s taken me to the Ring of Kerry and taught me to look for “American” style peanut butter when I visit. But it was her latest post that brought laughter this week when there was none. I suggest you skip across the pond and learn about the wacky floor numbering system in Irish buildings. Here is her last paragraph:

“So in recap, the ground floor is the American equivalent to first floor. So just start counting at zero and you should be fine. Or you can just wing it and have a merry adventure along the way.”

 **********************************

To Mouthful of Words… a mom, a writer, a woman packing in all of life and making it work. Her recent post shows her hiking with her two babies brought a smile.

Here is what I wrote:

“When I see you and your young family, I’m taken back – thirteen years ago that was me with my two little ones. Good job getting out and about – I KNOW how tough that is! Lovely photos and I can relate – I’d go stir crazy without my woods. I love nature. So nice to see your post – keep em coming (and I’ll understand when it takes a while – you’re a busy mom!)”

And here is her response:

“Thanks Susan, you are like my WordPress best friend. I can’t thank you enough for all your great posts and interest you’ve taken in my blog. Thank you just doesn’t cut it, but it’s all we have, so thank you for all the traffic, and for your own beautiful blog. Letters to Rosa are so heartwarming, they inspire me, and push me to do better.”

Keep writing, love. You’re a wonder…

**********************************

To Karron at Not in the Mood for Small Talk. Her recent post titled “60 Years” brought such joy. Here is but a small excerpt:

“I asked him how long they had been married.  ‘Almost 60 years, now.  And she is still the most beautiful woman I ever seen.’   Then he turned and patted her arm, as she was talking a mile a minute to the woman next to her.  He pointed at the door where the nurse had just called his name.  The woman got up and started fussing and hurrying him along as if he were a toddler.  He winked at me again. ‘Don’t tell her I said that though, cause I will never hear the end of it.’

When I left the doctor’s office, they were getting in their car.  She was fussing and fretting as usual.  I wondered if she was a backseat driver, or if she just prattled on until he reached over a patted her to remind her to let other’s get a word in edgewise.”

I wrote:

“I read this today and LOVED it! How sweet a moment and you captured it so beautifully, Karron. Love how the man could communicate so simply with his wife and she responded. Thank you for sharing.”
I needed to smile.

She responded:

“You are most welcome.  It was a sweet moment, and something that made me smile too.”

I really did need that smile.

I’ll be back tomorrow with the rest of yus guys…

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “flatline stats and warm hugs… Part One

  1. Thanks Sue you are too sweet 🙂 I am glad you could find a moment of peace in this crazy world we are in.

  2. free penny press

    Thank you so much for the kind words and so happy you are in my blogging tribe. Also, thanks for pointing me in the direction of some new blogs to read (I bookmarked this post 🙂
    Try to have a stress free weekend !!
    lynne

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

According to Dave

On life and writing ...

Judi Lynn

http://www.judilynnwrites

LauraRyan

The Box a story about witchcraft, karma and what was really in Pandora's Box

thekovies

Pondering lifes blessings one memory at a time

Connie Campbell Berry

Every woman, in her heart, believes herself to be a detective

Nutshells & Mosquito Wings

A fantasy writer's journey through reality

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Lori Lipsky | Poetry Patio

Poetry for the rest of us

Maybe someone should write that down...

Writerly ways for Family Historians and Storytellers

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

The DeerArrow Company

Mouthful of Words - One of my better harebrained schemes

AshiAkira's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just As I Am

Learning about unconditional love and acceptance

