of art doodles and versatile awards…

Writing has sprung from nowhere and taken me completely by surprise. Ask any loved one who lives at a distance and they’ll confirm – yup, Sue never wrote back. My brother, Dan, when he entered the Air Force sent countless letters packed with funny, sometimes silly jokes and stories of his life away from Vermont and did I respond? Ask him. He’ll tell you – just enough to keep him from being pissed off, not nearly enough to satisfy.

I suppose it came from a fear deep inside – look how permanent those words are! What if someone takes them the wrong way? What if I say something so stupid it ends up on the internet and goes viral…

Hey, I can just hear the teenager on the subway say to his neighbor, check this out. Can you imagine writing something so dumb?

A writer I’ve been for the past four years. An artist I’ve been my entire life. There I’ve always found freedom of expression. The picture either works or doesn’t and it matters not one whit whether the viewer understands or agrees or hates it. It simply exists. I suppose that could be true of writing, but the skeptic in me would disagree.

So when a lovely friend, Denise over at http://justasiamdenise.wordpress.com nominated me for this award:

versatile_blogger_award

I’ve decided to make my illustrations a permanent piece of the web, to share and let you in on one of the things I treasure most in my life- my art. Some are pastels, others watercolor, most are samples I created for my illustration portfolio, none of which landed me one job as a children’s book illustrator until now… Now I’m illustrating my first picture book for a dear friend, Karen. I’ll let you know when the book’s done. It’s sweet and wonderful and well-written.

But I digress and onto business. The pictures first. Please keep reading for at the end I shall let you know my nominations and the coveted 7 things about Susan (like this isn’t enough!)

Please don’t be too harsh…

My youngest girl, just a few years back. Done in watercolor and yes, I have her permission to post this…

a sample for a children’s magazine cover. Alas, twas not good enough…

another sample for my portfolio. Done in watercolor.

another cover illustration sample. watercolor with color pencil overlay.

cover to my handcrafted (that’s uppity for self-produced) book, Hodge Podge Lane. acrylic on watercolor paper

this looks a bit funky, but it’s a two page spread. Yup, that’s me doing stupid stuff. Watercolor

an example of my “fine” art. Series of pastel woman. And yes, that’s my reflection in case you’re wondering. Too lazy to take the art out of the frame…

A self-portait. Alas, I don’t own this one anymore…

a sample illustration, this one done in pastel…

I won’t bore you anymore…

Now, onto the nominations… I think I’m supposed to nominate 7, but I’m only doing 3. Not to leave anyone out, but I only follow a handful of blogs and I’ve already nominated most of them and I know how much work it is to accept these awards (gratifying, too!) and… well. I’m only doing 3. So there.

to Eunice at http://nutsfortreasure.wordpress.com  A fellow New Englander with a gift for words and photography. Wonderful treasures you’ll find there…

Now, onto 7 things about moi…

1) I’m supposed to be working on illustrations for Karen.

2) I’m about to work on illustrations for Karen (I promise, Karen!)

3) All images are copyrighted by said artist, that being, me, which leads me to #4

4) I hate having to say #3

5) It’s cool here and I have to start the fire in the wood stove

6) I’m about to start said-mentioned fire

7) I am a closet artist no more.

Thanks for visiting and please know, I’d nominate the following if wordpress would let me follow, like or comment on the following blogs:

lexisnana at http://thekovies.com – for her reflections on family life. Please tell her I said “Hello” and loved her latest post on her daughter in the Navy. Broke my heart how she misses her girl. Love how proud she is of her, too. Couldn’t leave a comment – not this time anyway.

http://runningfromhellwithel.wordpress.com – incredible writing. Incredible.

And finally, I enjoy all the blogs I follow. Please take a moment, fix a cup of tea and check them out!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “of art doodles and versatile awards…

  1. Karen

    Two thumbs up, waaay up!!

  2. Thanks for the nomination and the compliment–I’m a bit overwhelmed. I can see why your blog was nominated again. Your writing is so heartfelt, and your art is just downright charming. Thank you for sharing it with us. I know how hard it is to get noticed in publishing. I’m sorry no one took these for covers, because your art would catch my eye at a book store. It’s special and lovely.

    • I’m so glad you visited and thanks for the wonderful, heartfelt comment. I read it out loud to my husband and daughter and both share in my joy in such great feedback! Yeah for the internet! As to the nomination, just please know I enjoy your blog and hope it drives people to read your insightful posts. Yeah for you!

  3. free penny press

    You are so talented and love your artwork. I especially loved “The End”. Those two fishies are so cute… As for the wide world of publishing, you could do a small book of art and then do this:
    http://michaeldemeng.typepad.com/art_abandonment/2012/06/art-abandonment.html

    A great way to share your work freely & get your work noticed..
    Wonderful post and a joy to read this early morning!
    Lynne

    • Thanks for visiting and the feedback. Been living in as a hermit for far too long! I’ll definately check out that link and thanks for the support – it means a lot.
      Hope your day is filled with all good things!
      Sue

  4. Great work! I just love the piece of your daughter! What lovely illustrations too! Number 7….Yay! Had not thought about it like that. I agree! 🙂 Woohoo!!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

According to Dave

On life and writing ...

Judi Lynn

http://www.judilynnwrites

LauraRyan

The official site of Author Laura Ryan

thekovies

Pondering lifes blessings one memory at a time

Connie Campbell Berry

Every woman, in her heart, believes herself to be a detective

Nutshells & Mosquito Wings

A fantasy writer's journey through reality

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Lori Lipsky | Poetry Patio

Poetry for the rest of us

Maybe someone should write that down...

Writerly ways for Family Historians and Storytellers

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

The DeerArrow Company

Mouthful of Words - One of my better harebrained schemes

AshiAkira's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just As I Am

Learning about unconditional love and acceptance

