truly blessed…

As a cyber-friend recently pointed out, I live in a beautiful place – a great place for kids to grow up. I could not agree more.

Captivating at times; memorable in the glorious views and harsh at others, incredibly so… one must take the good with the bad in living here. It’s like you have to sign a contract:

I, Sue, agree not to rail against snow in May. There too, I must acknowledge and enjoy the long stretches of 70 degree weather, with soft breezes and violent blue sky in late spring and early fall. I must enjoy the blistering 90 degrees and seek a nearby swimming hole because no one living here has the right to complain about summer weather. That would make them stupid.

I, Sue, must count my blessings.

A country girl I’ve always been. Grew up in a tiny town with the “back mountain” as my playground. And now, to find myself owning acres of wooded land, raising my girls to appreciate nature… living in a home literally surrounded by forest with no houses in sight? How did I get this lucky.

This cyber friend (okay, it’s Teresa from http://bellybuttonblues.wordpress.com – I’ll shamelessly highlight her blog – she’s a charm and her posts are both funny and compelling) asked about hiking and is it safe, so I thought I’d let my little phone-camera do some talking. Guess I should get a real camera someday and I apologize to all you photo-buffs for the lack of editing…

acres of rock walls from the Irish farmers that lived here…

Our fall woods are looking a bit bare…

our cross-country ski paths… what a joy!

A little of this (snow dandruff), leads to a whole lot of…

This.

Now you see her…

Now you don’t!

Please don’t envy me too much though, because it was 15 degrees this morning…

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “truly blessed…

  1. free penny press

    You certainly do live in a beautiful place. I love all the woods and trails 🙂

    • Yes I am- although the rugged mountains where I live offer plenty of risks, too. Like last week when I was driving two cars behind my oldest daughter and watched a moose step right out of the woods and in front of her car. She stopped. He stopped. They stared each other down. Then he took off across the field with ATTITUDE! Thanks for visiting, Lynne.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

According to Dave

On life and writing ...

Judi Lynn

http://www.judilynnwrites

LauraRyan

The Box a story about witchcraft, karma and what was really in Pandora's Box

thekovies

Pondering lifes blessings one memory at a time

Connie Campbell Berry

Every woman, in her heart, believes herself to be a detective

Nutshells & Mosquito Wings

A fantasy writer's journey through reality

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Lori Lipsky | Poetry Patio

Poetry for the rest of us

Maybe someone should write that down...

Writerly ways for Family Historians and Storytellers

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

The DeerArrow Company

Mouthful of Words - One of my better harebrained schemes

AshiAkira's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just As I Am

Learning about unconditional love and acceptance

