Ah, see, not Blane but Blair!

It’s all twisted around, the information about my Gram’s side of the family. Throughout the years, I’ve asked about my dad’s mom, Mary – where did she come from, what is her family’s origin.

Canada, my dad said. The Blanes came from Canada.

So I dug and found, they came down from Canada. Then I dug further and found a mystery.

Did you know, Dad, that your mom was born Mary Blair, not Blane?

Was she now?

Yes, see, it’s Blair on the 1900 census. And look, here’s her father and mother’s wedding licence – He’s Henry Blair. So why is he Henry Blane on the 1940 census?

I’ve heard Blair/Blane before, Dad said, just don’t know why.

I found Henry’s dad, Newell Blair, and his dad, Louis Blair and his dad Enus Blair… Then when I searched Rosa’s side I found her mom Elizabeth Blair and nothing more.  frustrated, I kept digging.

Then I found her. And I blinked.

What?

I checked again.

Dad, I called to say, did you know your grandparents, Rosa and Henry Blair were first cousins? Did you know that Elizabeth and Newell were brother and sister?

He had no response. Guess it was something no one talked about.  But it’s not too great a secret – it happened plenty a hundred years ago in rural Vermont.

So, I had to ask – is that why they changed their name to Blane? Or was it because it was more American and not so Scottish?

Don’t know Tudes, my dad replied, guess we’ll never know.

 

I’d like to invite you to explore another blog where I reflect on my family’s life in rural Vermont in the form of a letter to my Great-Gran, Rosa Blair. You can find it at: http://letterstorosa.wordpress.com

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Ah, see, not Blane but Blair!

  1. Teresa Cleveland Wendel

    Your style of writing these historical family tidbits…..I can’t pin down what makes it different, but I like it. Maybe it’s when you take it into the present and show a family member’s reaction?

    • Susan bahr

      Thanks for the feedback- it’s seems easy to write these tidbits- I lived them so they’re very fresh. I appreciate your thoughts. Sue

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

According to Dave

On life and writing ...

Judi Lynn

http://www.judilynnwrites

LauraRyan

The Box a story about witchcraft, karma and what was really in Pandora's Box

thekovies

Pondering lifes blessings one memory at a time

Connie Campbell Berry

Every woman, in her heart, believes herself to be a detective

Nutshells & Mosquito Wings

A fantasy writer's journey through reality

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

Lori Lipsky | Poetry Patio

Poetry for the rest of us

Maybe someone should write that down...

Writerly ways for Family Historians and Storytellers

Living and Lovin

Living Life surrounded by all I love. PEACE

The DeerArrow Company

Mouthful of Words - One of my better harebrained schemes

AshiAkira's Blog

Just another WordPress.com site

Just As I Am

Learning about unconditional love and acceptance

